2014 Men's Division 1 National Champions


Arizona State captures their first National Championship with a 3-1 victory over Robert Morris (IL).

Tuesday’s National Championship game stood as a showdown between two teams that sat atop the national rankings all season and two goaltenders who established themselves as the toughest to beat through the 2014 National Championships.

Robert Morris (IL) goalkeeper Anthony Petrak and Arizona State goaltender Robert Levin came into Tuesday’s final with sterling records through the first three games of the tournament. Both had seen shutout streaks of over 120 minutes snapped in their semi-final victories while carrying respective .977 and .956 save percentages into their final game.

As would be expected, a scoreless first period was followed by nearly 10 more minutes of scoreless hockey in the middle frame. ASU’s Ryan Ostertag drew first blood at 8:09 of the period. He added a second goal 2:14 later on yet another assist from the nation’s leading point scorer, Kale Dolinski.

Ostertag finished tied for the tournament lead with four goals, picking up a pair of game winners including the deciding tally in Tuesday’s National Championship.
RMU would finally solve Levin with four minutes remaining in the contest. Chayce Coenen’s goal set up a frantic final flurry that was quelled by Troy Scott’s empty net goal with 15 seconds remaining.

Levin, the Tournament MVP turned aside 26 shots on his way to earning the Tournament’s top honor. Petrak was named to the All Tournament team for his equally impressive play.

This is the first National Championship for Arizona State and the newly formed WCHL. The tournament’s number one seed, ASU was nearly a wire-to-wire number one in 2013-14, taking over the top spot in the rankings on October 24 and suffering just two losses on the year.

2013-14 National Tournament Awards
Most Valuable Player
Goalie #35 Robert Levin Arizona State
All Tournament Team 1st Team
Goalie #30 Anthony Petrak Robert Morris (IL)
Defense #44 Zach Kuta Robert Morris (IL)
Defense #2 Drew Newmeyer Arizona State
Forward #10 Dave Jantzie Arizona State
Forward #16 Ryan Ostertag Arizona State
Forward #13 Nick Ernst Robert Morris (IL)
All Tournament Team 2nd Team
Goalie #39 Brendan Jones Stony Brook
Defense #44 Chris Joseph Stony Brook
Defense #21 Cory Ramsey Oklahoma
Forward #19 Darrell Boldon Oklahoma
Forward #13 Ryan Cotcamp Stony Brook
Forward #4 Christopher Cimoch Robert Morris (IL)