American Collegiate Hockey Association Powered by Goalline Sports Administration Software

High octane offense powers Minot State to first National Championship


Minot State secured their first ACHA National Championship with a 9-5 victory over Lindenwood.

Both Minot State and Lindenwood entered the 2013 National Tournament final having scored at least five goals in each of their previous three tournament games. That streak continued for both teams as Minot State rolled up nine goals on their way to their first ACHA National Championship.

The Beavers staked themselves to a 3-0 lead before the end of the first period and led 5-2 after 40 minutes on their way to a 9-5 triumph over Lindenwood.

Both teams had a quartet of players that helped carry their respective teams to the final and Minot received immediate contributions from theirs. Cam McGeough scored his fourth of the tournament at 7:23 of the first period and Jared McIntosh finally found the back of the net after picking up six helpers in the previous three games.

Brody Haygarth’s second period tally built the Minot lead to 4-0 before Lindenwood was finally able to answer. Nick Carey put the Lions on the board at 14:27 of the second but his goal was answered 66 seconds later by the tournament MVP, Daniel Lamb.

Lamb had a goal and two assists on the night and finished the tournament with five goals and as Minot’s leading scorer.

Trailing 5-2 as the third period opened, Lindenwood’s offense awoke for a final stanza that saw the two teams trade punches for the entire 20 minutes. The teams combined to score eight goals in the third period, including four in the final three minutes of play.

Cody Barra and Eric Combs scored less than a minute apart to bring the Lions roaring back to a one-goal deficit. Both received assists from Grant Gorczyca, who factored on every Lindenwood goal (1+4) on the evening in what was one of the most impressive individual performances of the tournament.

Minot only needed another 1:18 to pull ahead by two goals as Brody Haygarth added his second of the game with a shorthanded tally. That goal would prove to be the game winner as Haygarth was able to complete his hat trick and his four-point night (3+1) later in the third period.

Haygarth’s game winner was answered by Gorczyca with just over four minutes to play but Minot scored three times over the final 2:40 to close out the game and secure their first National Championship.

The Beavers received a strong effort in net from Wyatt Waselenchuk who faced his most rigorous test of the tournament in Lindenwood. The Lions potent offensive attack tested Waselenchuk – a 1st Team All-Tournament Team selection – but he turned away 35 shots on the evening and secured his fourth-straight win at the tournament.

One question that surrounded the game was if Lindenwood’s potent offense would be enough to overpower Minot, who allowed four goals only once in the first three games. While Lindenwood outshot the Beavers, Minot made the most of their opportunities the entire night and their four-goal lead was just too much to overcome.

The Beavers' sterling defensive record in the tournament was slightly tarnished by the Lions five-goal effort, but Minot's impressive offensive response more than accomodated in the victory.

Tournament Most Valuable Player
Forward #19 Dan Lamb Minot State
1st Team
Goalie #37 Wyatt Waselenchuk Minot State
Defense #4 Nigel Dube Minot State
Defense #5 Nick Carey Lindenwood
Forward #39 Cam McGeough Minot State
Forward #11 Jared McIntosh Minot State
Forward #81 Grant Gorczyca Lindenwood
2nd Team
Goalie #30 Linus Ahgren Lindenwood
Defense #8 Jonathan Gulch Ohio
Defense #21 Ryan Clark Arizona State
Forward #25 Tyler Pilmore Ohio
Forward #17 Kale Dolinski Arizona State
Forward #8 Peppi Sipila Lindenwood

Goalline Sports Administration Systems
Powered by Goalline Hockey Software